Review: Animal Collective

Animal Collective
“Spirit They’ve Gone, Spirit They’ve Vanished / Danse Manatee”
(Fat Cat Records)

Fat Cat Records has done everyone a great service. They have taken Animal Collective’s first two albums and released them as one. This double-disc set contains number one and number two in Animal Collective’s catalogue. Animal Collective is collectively made up of Avey Tare, Panda Bear, Conrad Deakin and Geologist. These four rotating members have created two funky-reggaeish-folky-post-punker-prog classics.

Fat Cat has been spreading the Animal Collective word in Europe and stateside but with the release of two albums in one, the word will definitely spread like fire over dry fields. From spacey keyboards to hardcore to folk all in one song, Animal Collective combines the best of all worlds and somehow makes it come out smelling like pumpkin pie. These two discs make The Flaming Lips look like Limp Bizkit in the way of progressive rock. How do you describe this new sound that has no name? The best way I can think of is to call it Animal Collective and to call it wonderful.