Islander Release Details On Power Under Control

islander 2016

Islander has announced details behind their upcoming new album Power Under Control, out August 5, 2016 via Victory Records. This is the recording debut of drummer Arin Ilejay (ex-Avenged Sevenfold) and guitarist J.R. Bareis (Love And Death). Stream “Darkness” below.

Islander founding member and vocalist Mikey Carvajal was joined by Love And Death/Korn wunderkind guitarist Bareis in 2015, leading the band on a powerful new path. The seeds of this relationship were planted during 2014’s Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Fest, when word of their explosive performances quickly spread to the tour’s headliners Avenged Sevenfold and Korn – who flocked to watch the band almost daily. Bareis, who was then guitar tech for Korn’s Brian “Head” Welch, soon found himself in the role as their new guitar player. Shortly thereafter, Islander recruited bassist Zeke Vasquez (ex-ForeverAtLast), and newly exited Avenged Sevenfold skinsman Ilejay became a permanent fixture snapping sticks and cymbals behind the kit.

Carvajal explains:

Power Under Control is a concept album dealing with several characters. The songs stand on their own, but are meant to be listened in the same way that a book is to be read. If someone were to skip the chapters in a book, the story may be exciting, but a lot of the meanings would be lost. If the listener wants to understand the meaning of each song, they can better be understood when listening as a whole rather than treating this as a buffet.”

islander power under control

01: Darkness
02: Bad Guy
03: Green Slime Man
04: Better Day
05: All We Need
06: Devil Red
07: A Boat Going By
08: Beelzebub
09: Think It Over (feat. HR)
10: Last Forever
11: Casket
12: Wait For It

The band has a couple of upcoming live dates with more to be added.

Jul 14: Concord Music Hall – Chicago, IL (Open Air Pre-Party)
Jul 16: Ford Festival Park – Oshkosh, WI (Rock USA Festival)